Thank God It’s Friday!

Thank God It's Friday!

OK, it’s only a Monday as I update this blog, but everyday feels like Friday at lovedisco.fm
The Disco / Dance Music vibe is always going on here!
I remember seeing a preview of the movie “Thank God It’s Friday” when it came out, I was about 10 years old and remember falling instantly in love with seeing Donna Summer on the big screen. Growing up in small, rural, Canadian prairie towns most of my life, meant that my favorite means of escape came with going to the movies every Friday night. If the movie was particularly of interest to me I would go again Saturday night, provided I had enough of my $2 allowance left (movies cost 50 cents back then for kids, but I still had to buy my treats which usually consisted of potato chips, red licorice or sponge toffee)
“Thank God It’s Friday” did not disappoint my 10 year old expectations. I loved it, and the soundtrack was one of the first vinyl albums I remember saving up to buy. I played that album so many times I literally wore it out.
I remember the film critics panned the movie, one had said it was one of the worst movies to win an Academy Award (It won best song for “Last Dance”)
It’s basically a multi-character, multi-story movie which takes place in a disco one Friday night. It features appearances by Paul Jabara (who wrote “Last Dance” among other tracks on the album), The Commodores, Terri Nunn (Lead singer of the group “Berlin“), Jeff Goldblum, Debra Winger, and Donna Summer‘s big screen debut.
The soundtrack still remains one of my favorites, and the movie is a true time capsule of the Disco era. Since it is a double album and a favorite, I’m going to let this movie soundtrack run for 2 weeks!! Happy Holidays!

Buy the original soundtrack recording of “Thank God It’s Friday” here!

Track Listing:

  1. Love & Kisses: “Thank God It’s Friday (Alec R. Costandinos) – 4:13
    • Producer: Alec R. Costandinos.
  2. Pattie Brooks: “After Dark” (Simon Soussan/Sabrina Soussan) – 7:50
    • Producer: Simon Soussan
  3. Donna Summer: “With Your Love” (Giorgio Moroder, Pete Bellotte, Donna Summer) – 3:58
  4. Donna Summer: “Last Dance” (Paul Jabara) – 8:08
  5. Paul Jabara: “Disco Queen” (Paul Jabara) – 3:45
    • Producers: Bob Esty, Paul Jabara
  6. Cameo: “Find My Way” (Johnny Melfi) – 4:56
    • Producer: Larry Blackmon
  7. The Commodores: “Too Hot Ta Trot” (Lionel Richie, Milan Williams, Ronald LaPread, Thomas McClary, Walter “Clyde” Orange, William King) – 3:24
    • Producers: The Commodores, James Carmichael
  8. Wright Bros. Flying Machine: “Leatherman’s Theme” (Arthur G. Wright) – 3:22
    • Producer: Arthur G. Wright
  9. Marathon: “I Wanna Dance” (Pete Bellotte, Thor Baldursson) – 5:58
    • Producer: Pete Bellotte
Disc 2
  1. Sunshine: “Take It To the Zoo” (Bruce Sudano, Donna SummerJoe Esposito) – 7:56
    • Producer: Arthur G. Wright
  2. Santa Esmeralda: “Sevilla Nights” (Jean-Manuel de Scarano, Nicolas Skorsky, Jean-Claude Petit) – 6:05
    • Producers: Jean-Manuel de Scarano, Nicolas Skorsky
  3. Love & Kisses: “You’re the Most Precious Thing in My Life” (Alec R. Costandinos) – 8:02
    • Producer: Alec R. Constandinos
  4. D.C. LaRue: “Do You Want the Real Thing” (D.C. LaRue, Bob Esty) – 4:40
    • Producer: Bob Esty
  5. Paul Jabara: “Trapped in a Stairway” (Bob Esty, Paul Jabara) – 3:22
    • Producer: Paul Jabara, Bob Esty
  6. Natural Juices: “Floyd’s Theme” (Dick St. Nicklaus) – 2:57
    • Producer: Dick St. Nicklaus
  7. Diana Ross: “Lovin’, Livin’ and Givin'” (Kenneth Stover, Pam Davis) – 3:17 (CD releases: – 4:40, remixed version)
  8. Thelma Houston: “Love Masterpiece” (Art Posey, Josef Powell) – 4:01
  9. Donna Summer “Last Dance” (Paul Jabara) (Reprise) – 3:17
  10. Donna Summer: “Je t’aime… moi non plus” (Serge Gainsbourg) – 15:45

Leave a comment